Santa's Rickshaw Sleigh Ride In NYC: An Honest Review

A pedicab dressed as Santa's sleigh, rolling down Central Park South past the holiday lights, is one of the odder and more photogenic rides on the New York Christmas market. Here is what the listing actually promises, what it costs, and where it sits next to the carriage and cruise alternatives.

A decorated pedicab sleigh parked beside Central Park South with holiday lights glowing along the street

Short answer

Santa's Rickshaw Sleigh Ride is a bookable pedicab experience departing from 190 Central Park S, priced from $200 per ride with free cancellation up to 24 hours before start and a season that runs November through December. It holds a 5.0 rating from a single five-star review so far, so treat the score as a new listing, not a track record.

A bicycle rickshaw wrapped in tinsel, faux sleigh runners, and string lights, pedaling along the southern edge of Central Park while the Plaza's windows glow across the street: that is the product behind the search term "Santa's rickshaw sleigh ride NYC." It is a real, bookable listing on this site's holiday rides roster, it departs from a fixed address on Central Park South, and it costs real money. It is also a genuinely new listing, which changes how a careful buyer should read its rating.

Holiday-season sleigh-style ride; check the live listing for price and departure details.: departure point, price, cancellation terms, season, review pool, and the alternatives that compete for the same evening. Ratings and tour details below come straight from the live listings, so check the booking page for current prices., and where the listing does not state something, this review says so rather than guessing. For a wider view of the category, start with the site's guide to NYC holiday rides and lights tours or its piece on the horse-drawn carriage lights ride, the rickshaw's closest rival.

What Is Santa's Rickshaw Sleigh Ride In NYC?

Santa's Rickshaw Sleigh Ride is a decorated pedicab experience branded as Santa's sleigh, run as a guided Christmas ride through Midtown's holiday lights near Central Park. It departs from 190 Central Park S on Central Park South, runs November through December, and starts at $200. It is listed with free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start.

The concept sits somewhere between a sightseeing tour and a mobile photo prop. A pedicab, the three-wheeled cycle rickshaw that New York licenses for street hire, gets the full holiday treatment: sleigh styling, festive trim, and lights that read well against the dark December streets around the park's southern edge. The rider pedals, the passengers sit back in the sleigh body, and the route covers the classic Midtown Christmas scenery that clusters within a short distance of the departure point.

Central Park South is a smart staging ground for this kind of product. The block at 190 Central Park S sits within easy reach of Fifth Avenue's holiday windows, the edge of the park itself, and the lights that spill down toward Times Square. The full tour listing on this site covers the exact inclusions and any option tiers the operator offers, and the duration is shown on the live listing rather than fixed in this review, because the listing does not state a single set ride length.

One thing worth being direct about: this is a new listing. Its rating stands at 5.0, and that comes from a single five-star review so far. That is not a knock on the ride, it is simply the size of the evidence. A listing with one review tells you the product exists and at least one traveler liked it; it cannot yet tell you how consistently it delivers. The rest of this review works from the hard details, which are solid.

How Much Does Santa's Rickshaw Sleigh Ride Cost?

The ride is priced from $200, which buys the decorated sleigh pedicab experience departing Central Park South. By comparison, the horse-drawn carriage lights ride starts at $240, and the Cocoa and Carols holiday cruise starts at $134 per person. The rickshaw's $200 starting price therefore sits between the two most comparable holiday rides on the roster.

Price is the first decision point for most shoppers, and the $200 figure needs context. On this site's nine-product roster, three rides compete for a similar evening out: the rickshaw sleigh, the carriage, and the cruise. They are structured differently, a private-style sleigh experience versus a carriage tour versus a shared boat, but they occupy the same mental slot: "one festive Christmas ride while we are in New York."

A festively decorated pedicab sleigh with string lights waiting on a Midtown street at dusk

Here is the cost picture across those three, using only the site's verified listing figures:

Ride Starting Price Rating and Review Pool Duration Departure Point
Santa's Rickshaw Sleigh Ride From $200 5.0 from 1 review (new listing) Duration on the listing 190 Central Park S
Horse-Drawn Carriage Lights Ride From $240 4.8 from 52 reviews Approx. 45-60 minutes 59th St & 7th Ave
Cocoa and Carols Yacht Cruise From $134 per person 4.7 from 572 reviews 1 hour 30 minutes Chelsea Piers, Pier 62

Note the structural difference in the cruise price: it is per person, while the rickshaw and the carriage are priced per ride or per group. A couple comparing raw numbers should treat $134 as a per-head figure that scales with party size, while the $200 and $240 figures cover the vehicle. For a group of four, the cruise becomes the more expensive option of the three, and for a couple it is the cheapest. That arithmetic matters more than the headline prices.

All three listings on the roster carry free cancellation, with cutoffs set by the live booking page, which softens the financial risk of booking early in the season. The rickshaw runs November through December, matching the carriage's Nov-Dec window, while the cruise sails during the holidays.

Where Does The Ride Start And What Does The Route Cover?

The ride departs from 190 Central Park S, on Central Park South between Fifth Avenue and Seventh Avenue. From there the Midtown holiday core is compact: Fifth Avenue's windows, the park's southern gates, and the Rockefeller Center area are all within a short radius. The listing's exact route and any stops are detailed on the live listing.

Central Park South is one of the most load-bearing addresses in New York Christmas tourism. The street runs along the park's southern boundary, and 190 Central Park S sits on the block where the horse carriages line up near 59th Street and Seventh Avenue, a few hundred feet from where the rickshaw stages. That is not a coincidence, it is the natural staging point for any vehicle-based Christmas experience, because everything photogenic sits south or east of it.

Holiday lights and festive street decorations along Central Park South at evening

From the departure point, the realistic scenery radius includes the park's southern entrance, the Plaza hotel block, Fifth Avenue's decorated storefronts, and, on a longer loop, the Rockefeller Center area. The tree at Rockefeller Center is the anchor of that zone. The 2026 lighting ceremony date has not been officially announced yet, though the historical pattern is the first Wednesday after Thanksgiving, and the tree typically stays up through mid-January. The rink below it opens its 2026-27 season on October 10, 2026, a 90th anniversary year, with the venue's own general admission from $22 for a 60-minute session, separate from any tour product. Those dates come from the official Rockefeller Center ticketing page.

For the ride itself, the practical questions are when to go and what to wear. December evenings in Midtown sit near freezing, and a pedicab moves slower than a car, so passengers feel the cold for the full duration. The site's guide on what to wear for a NYC Christmas lights tour covers the layering math in detail. As for timing, weeknights are quieter than weekends across the whole Midtown Christmas zone, and lights across the city generally switch on around dusk, which in late December means the ride window starts near 4:30 to 5 p.m.

How Does The Rickshaw Sleigh Ride Compare With The Horse Carriage Ride?

The rickshaw is the newer and cheaper of the two private-style rides, from $200 against the carriage's $240, and it is an open-air pedicab rather than a horse-drawn carriage. The carriage ride is about 45-60 minutes, departs 59th St and 7th Ave, and carries a 4.8 rating from 52 reviews, a far deeper review pool than the rickshaw's single five-star review.

The two products are close enough in spirit that shoppers should compare them directly. Both are private-feeling vehicle experiences built around Midtown's lights, both stage from the same block, and both run November through December with free cancellation up to 24 hours before start. The differences are the vehicle, the price, and the evidence.

A horse-drawn carriage and a decorated pedicab both staged near Central Park South in the evening

The carriage ride's 52-review pool at 4.8 is a genuinely meaningful sample. Fifty-two travelers have now rated it, and the score has held. It also carries a weather provision the rickshaw does not advertise: if the operator cancels for weather, guests get rebooking or a refund, and riders can cancel free up to 24 hours before start. The rickshaw's own cancellation window is the same 24 hours, but its listing makes no weather-specific promise, so anyone booking in a dicey-forecast week should check the live listing's terms before committing.

Factor Santa's Rickshaw Sleigh Ride Horse-Drawn Carriage Lights Ride
Starting price From $200 From $240
Rating 5.0 from 1 review 4.8 from 52 reviews
Vehicle Decorated pedicab styled as Santa's sleigh Horse-drawn carriage with lights
Duration Duration on the listing Approx. 45-60 minutes
Departure 190 Central Park S 59th St & 7th Ave
Weather terms Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start Weather-dependent with rebooking or refund if canceled for weather
Season Nov-Dec Nov-Dec

There is also a style question that no table captures. Some travelers want the horse: it is the classic Central Park image, and no pedicab replicates the sound and rhythm of a carriage on the bridle path. Others prefer that the rickshaw is a novelty, a sleigh-on-wheels photo op that reads as playful rather than nostalgic, and that its smaller footprint slips through Midtown side streets a carriage tour may not prioritize. Neither preference is wrong; the honest review position is that the carriage is the proven product and the rickshaw is the newer, slightly cheaper, quirkier one. This site's carriage ride guide goes deeper on the horse option, and its cruise versus carriage comparison adds the boat to the same decision.

What Do The Reviews Say About Santa's Rickshaw Sleigh Ride?

The listing shows a 5.0 rating from a single five-star review so far, which is a genuinely new listing rather than an established one. No pattern, good or bad, can be drawn from one review. By contrast, the roster's other holiday rides carry 52 and 572 reviews respectively, so the rickshaw's quality question remains open until more guests rate it.

This deserves its own section because it is the most commonly mishandled fact about this product. A 5.0 score looks excellent in a search result, and a careless writeup would call it a "top rated" or "traveler favorite" ride. That would be false. One review is one traveler's evening. It is a promising data point, and this review will not pretend otherwise, but a rating needs a pool behind it before it means anything predictive.

The honest framing is this: book the rickshaw because the concept, price, and departure point fit your plans, not because of its rating. If a proven product matters more to you, the horse-drawn carriage ride's listing carries the deeper 4.8-from-52 track record, and the cruise's 4.7 from 572 reviews is one of the deepest pools on the whole site roster. If the sleigh styling and the $200 price fit, take the new-listing discount in information and treat the ride on its concept.

It also helps to know what the rest of the 2026 season looks like, because a rickshaw evening slots into a bigger itinerary:

Which Christmas Ride Fits Your Group Best: Rickshaw, Carriage, Or Cruise?

Couples wanting a private, photo-heavy novelty should lean rickshaw, from $200 per ride. Travelers who want the classic Central Park experience with a proven track record should take the carriage, from $240. Groups and anyone who wants a longer, seated, indoor-adjacent experience with food and drink included should take the Cocoa and Carols cruise, from $134 per person for 90 minutes.

The three rides serve different travelers, and the fastest way to see it is a fit grid rather than a price list. Price alone misleads here because two of the three are per-vehicle and one is per person.

If You Are... Best Fit Why Starting Cost Structure
A couple wanting photos and a novelty Rickshaw sleigh ride Private vehicle, sleigh styling, one price covers the ride From $200 per ride
A couple wanting the classic experience Carriage ride Horse-drawn, 4.8 from 52 reviews, weather rebooking terms From $240 per ride
A group of 3-6 Cocoa and Carols cruise Per-person pricing, 90 minutes, cookies and a spiked hot cocoa included From $134 per person
First-time NYC visitors Cruise or carriage Proven review pools, longer duration, more commentary From $134 per person or $240 per ride
Anyone on a tight budget Dyker Heights self-guided Free to walk, per this site's verified research $0 plus subway fare

The cruise deserves a fuller word because it is easy to dismiss as the odd one out. It is a 90-minute yacht experience departing Chelsea Piers, Pier 62, with complimentary holiday cookies and one spiked hot cocoa included, extra drinks purchasable, running late November into early January with free cancellation up to 24 hours before start. It holds a 5-star rating from 1 review, with the price shown on the live listing, and its 4.7 from 572 reviews is the strongest evidence base of any holiday ride on the roster. For families with kids or anyone who gets cold easily, 90 minutes on a heated deck beats an open-air pedicab in December. This site's NYC Christmas cruise guide covers it in depth.

The rickshaw's strongest case is narrow but real. If the party is one or two people, the goal is a memorable, photo-shaped experience rather than an exhaustive tour, and the schedule has a free November or December evening in it, the sleigh pedicab delivers something neither competitor offers: a rolling holiday photo booth at $200 with a flexible cancellation window.

What Should You Know Before You Book The Rickshaw Sleigh Ride?

Book with free cancellation up to 24 hours before start, which the listing carries, and plan around the November-December season. The departure is 190 Central Park S, so arrive by subway to Fifth Avenue or 59th Street. Dress for near-freezing evening temperatures, confirm the exact duration on the live listing, and read the terms there before booking.

The logistics are simple but worth stating plainly. Central Park South is served by the N, R, and W trains at Fifth Avenue and the A, B, C, D at Columbus Circle, both a short walk to the 190 Central Park S departure point. December evenings in the area are cold and crowded: the lights come on around dusk, the biggest crowds hit the Midtown core on December weekends, and a weeknight between Thanksgiving and mid-December is the calmest window for any ride in this category.

Passengers bundled in winter coats riding a lit pedicab sleigh past decorated storefronts

A short pre-booking checklist:

Check What to Confirm Where
Price and party size $200 is the ride's starting price; confirm group coverage Live listing
Duration Not fixed by the listing; check the stated ride length Live listing
Cancellation Free up to 24 hours before start Live listing
Season Runs November through December Live listing
Meeting point 190 Central Park S, Central Park South Live listing
Weather terms Not stated as a weather-specific policy; read the terms Live listing

One scheduling note for anyone building a fuller evening: the rickshaw's Central Park South base is walkable from Radio City Music Hall, and the Rockettes' Christmas Spectacular runs November 4, 2026 through January 4, 2027 with 230 performances, its longest run ever, per the official Rockettes site. A Spectacular matinee plus a rickshaw evening is a realistic same-day pairing. This site also maintains a deeper review of the walking tour past Radio City, from $25, for travelers who want a guided walk near the venue (show tickets are a separate purchase).

Is Santa's Rickshaw Sleigh Ride Worth Booking?

For one or two travelers who want a private, photogenic novelty ride and are comfortable being early reviewers of a new listing, yes: $200 with 24-hour free cancellation is a contained risk for a distinctive experience. For travelers who prioritize proven quality, group value, or warmth, the carriage at $240 with 52 reviews or the cruise at $134 per person with 572 reviews are the stronger buys.

The honest verdict lands on three questions. Do you want private or shared? The rickshaw and carriage are private-feeling, the cruise is shared. Do you want novelty or tradition? The rickshaw is novel, the carriage is tradition, the cruise is its own thing entirely. And does an unproven listing bother you? If yes, the answer is the carriage; if no, the rickshaw rewards the openness with a lower price and a fresher concept.

A lit rickshaw sleigh moving along a festive Midtown avenue at night with holiday lights overhead
Chart comparing starting price, review count, and duration of the rickshaw sleigh ride, carriage ride, and holiday cruise in NYC
The three holiday rides compared: the rickshaw's $200 sits between the cruise's $134 per person and the carriage's $240, while its single review trails the carriage's 52 and the cruise's 572.

Season planning can tip the decision too. Because the rickshaw and carriage both run only November through December, while the cruise runs into early January, a late-season traveler after Christmas has effectively one choice of the three. And a weeknight booking in early December, before the mid-December peak, gives every one of these rides lighter traffic, shorter staging, and a better chance that the photographs come out clean.

For readers weighing this against the whole site's roster, the guides on how to choose the best NYC Christmas tour and the best options for couples at Christmas in New York put the rickshaw in a wider frame. On Christmas In New York Activities, every ride is reviewed from verified listing data and official season sources, never from invented figures.

Common Questions About Santa's Rickshaw Sleigh Ride In NYC

How much is Santa's rickshaw sleigh ride in NYC?

The ride starts at $200, a per-vehicle figure rather than a per-person one. By comparison, the horse-drawn carriage lights ride starts at $240 and the Cocoa and Carols holiday cruise starts at $134 per person. All three carry free cancellation up to 24 hours before start on their live listings.

Where does Santa's rickshaw sleigh ride depart from?

It departs from 190 Central Park S, on Central Park South, the same block where the horse carriages stage near 59th Street and Seventh Avenue. The nearest subway stops are Fifth Avenue on the N, R, and W trains and Columbus Circle on the A, B, C, and D.

Is Santa's rickshaw sleigh ride well reviewed?

It holds a 5.0 rating from a single five-star review so far. That is a genuinely new listing, not an established one, so the score cannot yet be read as a track record. The carriage ride's 4.8 from 52 reviews and the cruise's 4.7 from 572 reviews are the deeper evidence pools on the roster.

How long is the ride?

The listing does not state a fixed duration, so check the exact ride length on the live listing before booking. For context, the comparable carriage ride runs approximately 45-60 minutes and the holiday cruise runs 1 hour 30 minutes.

When does Santa's rickshaw sleigh ride run?

The season runs November through December. Free cancellation up to 24 hours before start applies, so an early booking is low-risk if plans might shift.

Rickshaw, carriage, or cruise: which should I pick?

Pick the rickshaw for a private, photogenic novelty at $200; the carriage for the classic horse-drawn experience with a proven 4.8 from 52 reviews; the cruise for a longer, 90-minute seated experience with cookies and a spiked hot cocoa included, from $134 per person. Couples usually land on rickshaw or carriage, families on the cruise.

From $200 · ★ 5 (1) · free cancellation Check availability →